WAPAKONETA — The Auglaize County Historical Society has announced its annual spring bus trip to Bucyrus and Crawford County, scheduled for April 27.
The price is $84 for historical society members and $94 for nonmembers. The itinerary includes:
• Brownella Cottage, completed in 1887, reflects the high style and wealth of the late 19th century and inspires visitors to discover the history of Bishop William Montgomery Brown. Is Bishop Brown still roaming the halls of Brownella? Many locals think so. The Galion Historical Museum includes exhibits of pioneer days to later Galion development, railroad and manufacturing artifacts, and reproductions of a Victorian parlor, early school classroom, early postal system and more. Historic Grace Church, built in 1875, is also on the grounds of Brownella Cottage.
• The Crawford County Courthouse, a Bucyrus landmark was designed by architect Harlan Jones to resemble the Ohio Statehouse. It building was constructed in 1854 and substantially enlarged and altered in 1906-08. It is listed in the National Register of Historic Places as part of the Bucyrus Commercial Historic District, which the step-on guide will describe during the day’s tour.
• Lunch at the 1938 Restaurant at the Hideaway Inn. Those who relish the fresh, farm-to-table taste that’s only created when using locally produced organic vegetables from the farmers’ market will thoroughly enjoy the experience.
• Eric Grohe murals enhance the Bucyrus streetscape. Grohe creates mural art that transforms the environment and communities, as well. He believes that his art should involve, challenge and inspire the viewer; not simply adorn, but integrate with its architectural surroundings.
• The Bucyrus Historical Society’s Scroggs House, constructed in 1873, has served as a museum for nearly 50 years. It was restored with the assistance of members of the Scroggs family and retains many of its original decorative elements.
• Bucyrus Copper Kettle Works has continued the tradition of handmade copper items at 119 S. Walnut St. for more than 140 years. The copper trade began as an outgrowth of the hardware store immediately west of the shop, run by two of Bucyrus’s earliest families. Ownership of the company moved through four generations of the founder’s family until 2015. Bucyrus Copper Kettle Works Ltd. began operations shortly thereafter under the leadership of Steve Schifer, a coppersmith with 39 years of experience at the facility.
• Hank’s Garage and the Edsel Car Collection & Auto Museum offers what is considered the largest collection of running Edsel cars on exhibit.
• Mark’s Homemade Ice Cream at Pickwick Place.
For information, email [email protected] or call 419-738-9328.