SHELBY COUNTY — The Ohio State University Alumni Club of Shelby County is pleased to announce their five scholarship recipients for the 2016-2017 academic year.

Nathan Platfoot, from Anna High School, was selected as this year’s freshman recipient of the Ralph J. Stolle Academic Scholarship, a 4-year renewable award which was first given in 1992.

Erin Gakerke, of Russia, received the Elaine Laughlin Buckeye Scholarship, named to forever recognize Elaine’s untiring support of Buckeye youth.

The Emerson Climate Technologies/Copeland Scholarship, which was first awarded in 2006, goes to Nathan Stiefel, of Anna High School.

Kaitlyn Davis, from Sidney High School, and Elizabeth Landis, of Anna High School, were awarded the Shelby County Alumni Scholarships, receiving income generated by life memberships in the local organization.

Three other students recieved a renewal on scholarships they recieved previously through the club.

The local club forwards rankings of students with the University making the final selections.

Scholarship applications and supporting information for the 2017-2018 school year will be available from school guidance counselors in December. Interested students must apply to the university by Nov. 1, 2016 in order to be eligible for merit based scholarships.

This club is one of the top alumni clubs both in number of scholarships and dollars awarded. The mission of the club is to: Promote student scholarship, enthusiasm, loyalty and support for The Ohio State University among Buckeye faithful.

For more information, please check out the club’s web page:

comments powered by Disqus